Love comes in many ways

Early this week me and my partner went back to our folks’ house after a month in Manchester. We really were excited to see our siblings and parents, and also our friends. We were spoilt rotten with home cooked meals, hugs and kisses and everything nice. We felt like extremely dependent toddlers again.

On the second day we met up with my partner’s bestfriend, her husband and their baby, along with a very-much-in-love gay couple. This said couple has been together since they were in their teens. While we were all in Starbucks having coffee and chatting, I started observing how these two men interact with one another. I have to admit that besides my curiousity as psychology student, I am curious because I have a narrow mind when it comes to relationships. From all the stories that I’ve read and heard, and the movies that I’ve seen, the most common form of relationship is a heterosexual one. Readers should note that I am not against homosexual relationships- it’s just that I haven’t observed one before.

Let me put things into perspective. I grew up in a country and in the time where homosexuality was seen in a negative light. Although not every homosexuals hide who they really are, they are sometimes made fun of, called the ‘third sex’, some see them as disgusting and should be avoided, and quite a few fathers either disown their gay sons or try to convert them.
As we converse, I noticed how sweet these two men were to each other. They call each other with terms of endearment, they sit together, they make jokes, laugh at their own jokes, and everytime they tell stories, their other half is always included. I have to say that they are a lot more sweeter and more loving than most couples I know. To think that they have been together for 16 years, I have to acknowledge that they have been through a lot of adversities.

It’s rather enlightening to observe these two. They throw every stereotype out of the window. For me, they are a living proof that love comes in many ways. It doesn’t matter who you love, as long as you’re happy.

Leave a Reply

