Positive Procrastination

Do it NOW!

Today’s Prompt:  We all procrastinate. Website, magazine, knitting project, TV show, something else — what’s your favorite procrastination destination?

With the amount of things that I need to do on a daily basis, I rarely have the time to think about procrastinating and just get on with what I need to do. There are, however, some instances when I really put off the most difficult or mundane tasks ’till last. In these cases, I have developed a strategy which I call ‘Positive Procrastination’ (others might have been doing this as well, although I am not aware).

Here’s what I do:

  • First, I identify and write down the task that I wish to put off and the small tasks that I actually quite enjoy.
  • Second, I will rank the little enjoyable tasks in order of which one needs to be done first.
  • I will complete the first little enjoyable task.
  • Once the first task is finished, I will spend 5 minutes (literally 5 minutes – I have a timer) of my time starting the activity that I want to put off. This could mean just turning on my computer if I’m about to write an essay.
  • Then, I’ll complete the second liitle enjoyable task.
  • Then, I will spend 10 minutes of my time carrying on with my boring/unenjoyable task.

I will carry on this pattern until I ran out of enjoyable tasks. By the time this happens, I would have either completed my boring task, or have gone half way through, which will make me feel immensely happy (and smug).

😉

 

One thought on “Positive Procrastination”

Leave a Reply

