What does Hard Work smell like?

Today’s Prompt: From the yeasty warmth of freshly baked bread to the clean, summery haze of lavender flowers, we all have favorite smells we find particularly comforting. What’s yours? 

Lunch

In a relatively recent blog post, I have revealed that my favourite writing place is the Costa coffee shop close to the place I work. I have written most of my blog posts and about half of my Master’s thesis there (using an iPhone 4). I have also read countless books and academic articles there while having a cup of coffee during lunchtimes.

An unintended consequence  of this habit has been the development of a stimulus-response bond in my head between the smell of coffee and hard but enjoyable work. I have always adored the smell of great coffee since I started drinking the stimulant. Coffee has always been my companion (aside from my cat) during over-nighters, revision sessions, meetings and Monday mornings. I call it ‘the elixir of my life’!

5 thoughts on “What does Hard Work smell like?”

  1. you got me thinking about what smell I can associate with my work time. I must say this was short and sweet. Since you are a coffee lover, I would like to share this with you for future times of enjoyment – http://www.coffeekingz.com The coffee is great – organic – and more. Check it out. Feel free to give me feedback. tx.

Leave a Reply

